Speaking at the IABC's CSR conference

I’ve been invited to speak at the IABC’s conference on communicating Corporate Responsibility in Brussels next month, and I’m starting to feel nervous.

Not because I have to stand up and present to a large group of people – after all I’ve had enough practice in boardrooms and classrooms over the years – but because I’m wary of the accusation that I’m becoming exactly the kind of person I can’t stand on the rare occasions I attend conferences myself.

You know the type I’m talking about – the self-styled “gurus” on [insert communication topic here] who merrily plough the speaker circuit with their high-powered observations and predictions, but who are completely unable to point to any recent, concrete examples of how they’ve put that thinking into practice.

Hopefully my audience will appreciate that that’s not what I’m about.

I’ve no ambitions to forge a career on the speaker circuit, nor do I pretend to be offering the definitive, all-singing all-dancing guide on how to communicate CR effectively.

All I’m trying to do is to share some thoughts and insights on first principles and, hopefully, to provide some useful context – a thought-provoking lens through which delegates can view and reflect on all the other stuff they’ll hear over the course of the two-day programme.

Well, that’s my defence anyway, and I’m sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

